homesick

HOME, they say, is where the heart is…

then mine happens to be in maine.  that’s where i left it when we relocated to the midwest a few years ago.  i feel like a piece of me is still there. & i terribly miss the life we had there.  it suited us to a T.  i know that you shouldn’t cry over spilt milk…but i can’t help or deny how/what i feel.  we loved living there in that quaint, picturesque seaside community.  i can almost smell the salt air & see/hear the wondrous sights/sounds of the ocean in my mind’s eye.   have you ever loved living in a place so much?  & then when you leave it, you miss it so much that your heart breaks?  well, that’s what i’m talking about.

this ol’ tune by steve miller comes to mind…

FLY LIKE AN EAGLE
 
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future

I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Oh, Lord, through the revolution

Feed the babies
Who don’t have enough to eat
Shoe the children
With no shoes on their feet
House the people
Livin’ in the street
Oh, oh, there’s a solution

I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Fly through the revolution

Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future

I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Fly through the revolution

Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future
Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future

 
 one day, i tell myself, we will be back there. & for good.
for now, my memories will have to do & sheer determination will have to see me through. 
One Response

  1. Hi Maryann,
    just getting caught up with you girly,
    I am also home sick. being in MO is getting old. I miss NY terribly. two homesick ladies. when i get like this i watch youve got mail and as good as it gets because they remind me of home.
    cheer up sweetie
    xxxxx’s
    tabitha

Leave a Reply

