“I’m nobody! Who are you?”

I’m nobody!

Who are you?

Are you nobody, too?

 Then there’s a pair of us — don’t tell!

 They’d banish us, you know.

 

 How dreary to be somebody!

How public, like a frog

To tell your name

the livelong day

 To an admiring bog!

~emily dickinson

 

remember the days when life was oh so much simpler?  no cell phones, texting, apps, blogs or nings?

can i have those days back? please?!  the fast-paced technology constantly bombarding us these days is just a bit too much for my liking.

i had to delete my beloved follow your bliss ning group the other day.  it was very upsetting but things were getting out of hand in there & frankly, i did not like the direction my group was going.  to my chagrin,  my original vision for the ning started to get distorted & then misunderstandings occurred….it was all too much to bear.  it’s been a month since we buried our loved ones & i was starting to get back to some semblance of normality when crap started to hit the fan in the ning group.  i just didn’t need anymore undue stress, so i deleted my ning group because i needed to eliminate the negativity AND keep my follow your bliss vision intact. 

then i plan to delete the itty bitty book club on flickr.  one of the (ahem, former) ning members is currently hosting a swap so i will wait (& everyone’s been forewarned).  then after the vintage circus book swap is completed, the flickr group will cease to exist. poof, it will be gone!  it has to be done.  i need to make a clean break of the negativity that’s been brewing so that i can one day, when things quiet down & the time is right, start afresh with a new, yet even more “exclusive” group.  gone are the days of  “free-for-all”…there are just too many rotten eggs that come in that basket.  if/when i regroup in another format, people will be more or less, “hand-picked”.  it really is no fun to have fair-weathered (or worser yet, free-loaders!) peeps in a gathering that is supposed to be devoted to supportive, creative souls. 

 i need a break from online art groups right now.  i am exhausted: mentally, physically and  financially.  if anyone out there has ever organized a large group swap, then you know all too well how much work, effort, time & not to mention, out of pocket $$$ are involved.  sadly there are more people out there, it seems, who are looking for FREE things and don’t give an “f” how much work/expense it is to host/organize a swap.  well, from here on out, the buck stops here.  enough is enough.  no more freebies.  (pls. note, i am referring to those peeps who always want things for FREE, not those kind souls who are very appreciative & understanding of all the tremendous work that goes into swaps)…

along those same lines…

i don’t know about you, but i am growing tired of how the online community, in general, is behaving these days.  if it’s not constant, shameless self-promotion of one’s blog/site/products, then it’s blatant copying of other’s ideas/work/etc, which for me, is greatly off-putting.  seriously.  blogging/online social networking is not what used to be when i first started out nearly 4 yrs ago.  & that’s pretty much why i’ve not been blogging/tweeting/facebooking much.  i just cannot stomach what i sense is going on these days.  it’s such a shame, really.  i can remember when everyone was a “nobody” like in the emily dickinson poem (one of my favorite ones, btw).  seems like now, everyone wants to be a “somebody”. 

well, they can have it.  i’d rather be a nobody.  & i’d be damn proud of it to.

6 Responses

  1. I can so understand your feelings. You’ve had a lot happen to you lately that has made you put all things you love in priority ~ seems as though life gives us these obstacles….and we must always regroup but to realize what is the most important in our own individual lives is THE most important thing of all….I wish you peace and strength to pursue you own way ~ xxoo, Dawn

  2. Hi Mary Ann – I’m so sorry to hear of all the negative things going on for you. I have been quite absent from blogging lately. I think of starting back up again, and I just can’t talk myself into it. I think I’m done. I do a lot on Facebook (with a few negative things there too, but unfriending the bad seeds is at least easier there.)

    I miss the connections we all had at one point. I can totally see how you got overwhelmed though. I did, and I wasn’t the one hosting anything!! 🙂

    Know that your old bloggie pals (me!) still think of you often!! Hugs to you.

  3. I am probably the biggest “no-body” and I like it that way too.
    Follow your bliss MayAnn…
    Mahala 🙂

  4. You have been through so much and your ning group and your art should have been a place of clam for you. I was devastated to learn that you are discontinuing the group, but that was selfishness on my part as I wanted to continue to be a part of this beauty you created. However, I completely understand about making clean breaks. Should you want to start another art group in the future, my friend, please keep me in mind. Until then take care of you. Please~~~XXOO, Beth

  5. Excuse my type-o, I meant your art and ning group should have been a place of CALM for you, not clam 🙂 Although being a clam and able to close one’s shel during turbulent times sounds kind of comforting, doesn’t it?~~~XXOO, Beth

  6. Oh honey!!! We can totally be nobodies together:( I’m so sorry for all the negativity that’s been coming your way – and i think you’re handling it so well but giving it a big old kick in the nuts!!!!!!! along with a big old f*** you:) I love you and I’m here if you need anything.

Leave a Reply

