what i’ve been up to these first days of summah vaykay

smr1

it feels sooooooo good to be at home, doing my own thing on my own time & creating stuff in my jammies pretty near all day! 🙂  that’s how my summah vaykay is shaping up & i am LOVIN it! 🙂

my summah “uniform”, hehehe: apron & jammies!inpjs2

inpjs1

this month’s spc is SHOES…here’s me in my super comfy slippers, which i found not too long ago on my thrifting jaunts for a mere 49 cents. 

inpjs3

don’t i look like one happy camper?!  you betcha!! 🙂

ssts1

i just finished this massive swap wip, the sweet sentiments tag book swap that i hosted here

ssts2

ssts4my days lately are spent cutting, pasting, embellishing, stamping, glittering…  

ssts5

smrvk2

smrvk1

fjm2

4jm1

(a baby shower card i made for a group of teacher friends to sign & give to a mutual teacher pal) 

smr2

(my itty bitty summer book wip that i started…)

smr3

pretty much creating with abandon. & i am not even complaining!  hehehe…didn’t someone famous say that if you are having fun & enjoying what you do, then it is not work?  well, that’ how i feel these days.

smr4

i’m planning to use these sweet fabric scraps that i got recently from here in my other tag book swap, christmas in july (which btw there are 6 spots left before we HAVE reached our 20 participant max as of 6/18/09). 

fi1

have you seen dear lisa‘s piddlestix zine?  i’ve been meaning to mention this…she did a lil write-up about the itty bitty book club.  thank you so much lisa for the plug!  xoxo

fi2

speaking of itty bitty books, i’ve also been working on the itty bitty vintage tea cup books.  they were due last wednesday, june 10th.  there are a couple fo teacup pages still outstanding, but it’s just as well, beacuse i’ve got my hands pretty full these days (not complaining, mind you.  just saying…)

ibtcbpages1

from what i can tell, these books are going to be A*M*A*Z*I*N*G!

ibtcbpages2

oh yes, i finally got around to taking pix of those large-ish finds that i snapped up in last month’s antique flea opener here>>>

ff61209a

they’ve been sitting in the garage…i’ve already found homes for them, yay!ff61209b

this went on the front porch…

ff61209c

this sweet tier went into our guestroom/office (which i currently am re-doing…pix to follow)…

ff61209d

the white whicker shelf went to my lil shop at the antique barn, while the wood trim are awaiting alteration in the studio…

ff61209e

the pale sagey green moulding will be mounted on our bedroom wall, hopefully soon…

i haven’t just been homebound entirely my 1st days of summer vacation…i did venture out to go to my yoga class & then to the farmer’s market another day…

myfavbarn

this is my fave barn, which is not far from the house.  i pass this barn every time i make my way to my yoga class.  it is on a back road that i take & seeing it always makes me smile.  i just love all those windows…i’m thinking, wouldn’t that make an amazing studio space or what.  but cows live in there.  pretty fancy digs if you asked me!

go1 aren’t the clouds & blue sky so quintessentially SUMMER? 

ff61209g

after my yoga class, i went to a local resale shop & boy, was i ever glad that i stopped in.  i found some wicked good deals & look at all this stuff i snatched up for under $25!!

ff61209h

ff61209i

ff61209k

ff61209l

ff61209m

ff61209n

ff61209o

ff61209p

ff61209q

i especially love this vintage ribbon (in my color palette too!), it was only 75 cents!  i bet there are  75 yards of it or maybe more on this roll.  sah-weet!  so many possibilities…

smr5

i also found these sweet martha stewart napkins that i thought i could use for paper whimsy‘s altered napkin tag swap.  i’ve got to get to this wip soon as they are due 6/20…eek!

last saturday, i went to the farmer’s market & bought some cut flowers. 

fmf1

fmf2

they just looked like summer to me.  i actually have these same flowers, daisies, cornflower & sweet williams, but they are still coming up…they haven’t yet bloomed in my garden.  idk what’s taking them so long…

anyway, i stopped by my friend cj‘s shop, annabelle’s.

fmfa

i spotted this wicked darlin’ birdie tuteur.  you know me & birdies…i am such a softie, hehehe.  i thought it would come in handy next time i am doing an art fair.  i can use this to hang tags, small packages or even some handmade jewelry.  plus it makes a nice decorative statement.     

fmfb

after the farmer’s market, i scooted down the road to the stateline flea market.  i found some sweet things…

fmfc

fmfd

i thought with these spools of patriotic ribbon, i could fashion some badges & bows. 

fmfe

another weakness of mine…vintage buttons!  i snap them up whenever i can, esp. if they are a good price as these were.  they reminded me of these lil flags i found hidden in the coat closet.  pretty soon, i will be decorating the fron porch with these.

fmfj aren’t these too cute for words?  i found them at my local scrap n stamp store.   fmfg

& these, i found herefmfh

they sure will come in handy for those teacup books! 🙂

fmfi

yep, that’s how it’s been so far.  & i wouldn’t have it any other way!

4 Responses

  1. MaryAnn- I just got my book in the mail today and I absolutely LOVE it. What a great group of artisans who collaborated this Sweet Tag with me and you. I had fun! Thanks for letting me play along! Sweet book! ~A~

  2. What a great post! So full of creative energy & inspiration. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the summer 🙂
    Nerissa

  3. Looks like you´re keeping yourself busy! And what great finds! Now I´m really kicking myself for not buying stamps and ink pads when the craft shop in town closed – everything was half off. And not long ago there was a sale at our biggest craft chain, lots of cheap stamps, but I didn´t get any. Then I didn´t have use for them – I wish I could tell the future, then I´d know that I want stamps and ink pads now!

  4. Hi Mary Ann-I’ve tried to email you three times to sign up for the Christmas In July Tag Swap and the emails keep coming back as a failure notice. Could you email me and I will replay with the information (if it’s not too late :D) I don’t know why it keeps coming back???
    Thanks Joyce
    jegleason1@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

