these last days of 2008

this is excerpted from a newsletter i receive from life coach, cheryl richardson.  i thought it was worth posting on my blog.  i’m thinking about my responses & hope to post my thoughts in the next day or two. 

just some  things to ponder these last days of 2008…

Topic of the Week
 
Bon Voyage 2008!
I don’t know about you, but I’m happy to say goodbye to 2008.  Although it’s been a year of tremendous growth and positive change, I’m ready for a fresh, new beginning where I can deepen my practice of extreme self care and establish a renewed sense of optimisim and hope for our collective future. 
 
Before moving forward, however, I’ve learned from experience that it’s smart to look back for clues that will inform a successful, more awakened next year.  To that end, here are a few questions I’ve been thinking about this week as I review 2008.  I invite you to do the same:
  • If you had to pick a theme of growth for 2008, what would it be?  What did you most need to learn?  What changes have you made that let you know you got the lesson?
  • What one thing are you still beating yourself up about?  Are you ready to do what it takes to put an end to this hurtful behavior?  Okay, then.  What do you need to do right now to get started?
  • What did you accomplish last year that made you feel good about yourself and how did you celebrate?  If you didn’t celebrate, what will you do this week?
  • How was 2008 perfect for you?  What happened, good or bad, that forced you to wake up and see your life with clarity and truth?

Finally, as you think back over the last year, take some time to think about the people who influenced your growth – the ones who hurt you and the ones who supported you – and, in your own private way, thank them for their contribution to your life.  

That’s it for this final week.  Get ready for a “Mighty Fine 2009!”   

 

 

 

 

 
One Response

  1. ok here are my answers to cheryl’s questions:

    Q:If you had to pick a theme of growth for 2008, what would it be? What did you most need to learn? What changes have you made that let you know you got the lesson?
    A: “putting myself out there” would be the theme for 2008. i have opened online shops, vended at local antique fairs & started an arty/entrepreneurial network online. what did i most need to learn? i think i realized that it is a LOT of work getting myself out there. i think i put a lot of extra pressure & work on myself so that i can establish in the arty/entrepreneurial realm. i also realized that without the support of my loved ones cheering me on, i could not continue pushing myself toward my goals.

    Q:What one thing are you still beating yourself up about? Are you ready to do what it takes to put an end to this hurtful behavior? Okay, then. What do you need to do right now to get started?
    A: i am beating myself up for not meeting my own deadlines or following thru with certain projects that i had initially planned earlier in the year. also, for thinking grandiose sometimes & falling short of my own artificial dealines. i am feeling badly that i couldn’t get it together to have my zine project premiere last oct as i had envisioned. i took on a lot of projects (the itty bitty book club, swaps, school, getting ready for the antique fairs, family responsibilities, etc. etc.) & quickly became overwhelmed. i realized that i had to prioritize my increasingly growing to-do list & sadly, my zine project fell victim to my over-extending issue. i try to to do too much & then i crash & burn. i try to step back , regroup & really focus on what’s important (my dh, family, practice) & tell myself not to kill myself trying to get a kajillion things done bec. i am only human & can only do so much being one person. it’s a constant struggle for me to not overdue. i want the new year to be about priorities, doing what i can in a given day & also not feeling guilty about taking time for “self-care”. to “just be” w/out guilt or fear would be tremendous help. that & not taking on too much at any one time.

    Q:What did you accomplish last year that made you feel good about yourself and how did you celebrate? If you didn’t celebrate, what will you do this week?
    A: I think what was remarkable about 2008 for me is that i did do things that got myself out there…out of my comfort zone. it’s a lot of work setting up & managing a booth at an extremely busy antique fair. but i did it, with a lotta help from my family. & it felt very rewarding & affirming. i celebrated with my sister,her daughter (my great helpers!!!!) and my husband. it was great to share my success with my loved ones around me.

    Q:How was 2008 perfect for you? What happened, good or bad, that forced you to wake up and see your life with clarity and truth?
    A: idk if i’d say that 2008 was “perfect”. maybe “alright” but definiitely not perfect. when my husband got ill over the summer, it made me see how important not to take for granted number one, my husband but also number two, our health. it was a definite wake up call & made me see that i had to get my priorities straight. before anything, my family comes first. everything else comes second or third. & not the other way around. him being sick made me see that i cannot take on so many projects at one time because i’d just be setting myself up for failure or i’d do a half-assed job of things. that’s no way to live. so in the new year, it’s time to focus, prioritize, slow down & live more purposefully/authentically. i also have to stop thinking that i can do “just one more thing” when really i can’t or shouldn’t. that it is okay to say “no” when i am feeling overwhelmed.

    Finally, as you think back over the last year, take some time to think about the people who influenced your growth – the ones who hurt you and the ones who supported you – and, in your own private way, thank them for their contribution to your life.

    A: my sister, my dh, my mom & lia are some of the people who have had a definite influence on my growth. they are my constant circle of support. the wonderful women that i have befriended on my online groups & ning network also have influenced my growth, artistically & socially. i think without their continual support & appreciation for our book collaboratives, i certainly wouldn’t have the same motivation or desire as i have now for the netwrok we’ve formed. i am overwhlemed with all the wonderful connections that have been started & built there. i’ve also met some professional colleagues this year who have shown me kindness & compassion for which i am grateful. & to my close pals, whom i don’t see or talk to often, but think of them often & with fondness. i am always grateful for their generous presence in my life. there have been some folks who (for whatever reason unknown to me) i have lost touch/connection with in the past year which has troubled me. however, i will let that go & wish no harm or ill will. it used to puzzle me, even vex me at times, why i have lost touch with them. but as they say, things happen for a reason & not to dwell. i’ll just remember the good times & move on from there.

    next year is going to be different…new intentions to cast out there in the big ol’ universe…& believing that it will be a “mighty fine 2009”.

Leave a Reply

