coming soon

good morning!

 

hope this is finding you well & having a good week.

 

just writing to let you know that i will be making changes with this group as well as other flickr groups ( here, here, here, here & here) that i currently admins.   

i’ve been getting overwhelmed with all the swaps & groups i have going on online (particularly the growth & popularity of the itty bitty book club), so i have decided to put them all under one roof, namely, the follow your bliss network on ning.com.  it is going to be a private group accessed by invitation only.  i plan to provide the link soon in the flickr groups for those peeps interested in joining. 

 

now here comes the big change

 

i have hosted quite a number of swaps in the nearly 3 years being online & i have always done them on my own time & expense.  this past year, i have asked for a modest fee to go toward mailing & binding costs.  if you have ever had the pleasure of hosting a swap or group, then you know all too well what a JOB it is.  being responsible for managing a large group and/or putting together a completed project take an inordinate amount of time, energy & effort…almost like having another full-time job, but without pay!

 

in order for me to account for my time, maintain some semblance of sanity & continue to host these fun, fabulous (& uber time-consuming) swaps, i have had to come up with some ways to justify doing them & compensate for all my work & efforts.  like many of you, i have loads of other IRL duties & responsibilities… & trying to balance all of these with my online groups has been NUTS n BOLTS.  🙂

so, starting in october & after all the current swaps are completed, all new swaps will be posted in the new site & will now require a “paid” membership to participate in them.  i have set up 4 nominal membership fee options:  $2/month; $6/3months; $12/6 months & $20/year. 

 

membership benefits will not be just limited to itty bitty swaps, but also to unlimited access to other  fun groups, contests, giveaways, swaps, free tutorials, follow your bliss zine info, studio spotlights; interviews with artists/creative bloggers/ & women entrepreneurs, & so much more. pls. note that the nominal membership fee options do not apply to current swaps, only to the new ones. 

 

what about the flickr groups?  they will still continue, but now only as a photo sharing place.  all new swap business & info will be posted in the new site. these changes will be effective october 1, 2008.   

   

i know this is a lot to take in, but a lot of thought went into this.  rather than abandon all the groups altogether (which i really did not want to happen!), coming up with the follow your bliss network, in my view, was the optimal solution.  rest assured,  the unique & quality swaps that my groups have offered over the years will continue & not only that, they will be expanded in the new site. folks will have even more opportunity to participate as well as host in as many swaps/groups/events that their hearts’ desire.    

 

if you have enjoyed the groups i started in flickr & want to continue with the fun, then please join me as i embark on this new, exciting adventure.  the new site will be a safe, supportive, positive & truly unique place where creative souls & entrepreneurs alike can spread their talented wings & share the creative wealth.       

 

the new site is still under construction.  so stay tuned, i will be announcing the new site very soon.   having said this, i will have to push back the release date of the follow your bliss zine (new release date tba).  this is how it is when you are a one-person operation… 

 

anyhoo, there it is…it is my hope that by forming this new site that i will be able to better manage & keep track of all my groups…PLUS continue to offer quality swaps & other group activities that existing members have been lucky to experience and also come to expect & appreciate. 

 any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.  

 

i sincerely appreciate your patience & understanding!

 

xo mary ann

20 Responses

  1. Hi Good for you! Big changes, but good ideas. Stay on that Zine-can’t wait! I think you need a Blythe for comfort! 🙂 I could facilitate that. Didn’t like my Marie pages much, felt too rushed, for many of the reasons you describe above.
    xo,
    Gina

  2. This soundslike a terrific idea. I would sign up for the year for sure. Just finished my first swap, the itty bitty Hallowe’en.
    Becky

  3. I just joined the itty bitty book group recently and I will follow wherever you go! I have seen the results of the itty bitty books and can appreciate the time and effort that goes into organizing and putting it all together. Most of us subscribe to magazines, are members of some club or guild, belong to the tripple A, you name it, – so why not subscribe to an online group!

  4. I think this sounds wonderful, and makes perfect sense. I’m in all the way!

  5. Sounds like a great plan to me! I have done a few swaps, and would like to do more eventually! I’m in! 🙂

  6. sounds great MaryAnne…i really enjoy all the swaps!!

  7. It all sounds splendid , Mary Ann. And I look forward to the new site. Cheers! 🙂

  8. Fully understandable and just tell me when to send my money…or your money… 🙂

  9. I’m in…sounds like a well thought out idea and it’s only fair , of course! 🙂

  10. Of Course Mary Ann! I am behind you all the way !
    You will have a whole lot more fun now! And you know ….
    what they say about fun girls!!!
    XO, jane

  11. Mary Ann…What a brilliant idea!
    I look forward to more swaps & can’t wait for the changes…
    Keep me posted!
    Priscilla

  12. I’m SOOOOOO excited!! I can’t wait to join. I am SO proud of you! xoxoxoxooxox lia

  13. What a brilliant idea! I love your creative spirit 🙂 I don’t think I can even imagine the work put into hosting. This is a wonderful way to keep the group going. Please count me in.
    Nerissa

  14. thank you ladies!!!!!

    your generous words mean a lot to me! 🙂

    i think it will be great to have everything put under one roof!

    xo mary ann

  15. 20 dollars is so is not a big stretch and only fair for the amount of work you put in on these swaps and sites! Way to go and good looking out for yourself (and us!)!

  16. I support you 100% Mary Ann, and will be here with bells on! Let me know if there is anything at all that I can do to help!

    xoxo
    Rhonda…

  17. Count me in please, Mar.
    So filled with admiration for you, hun.
    Huge Hugs, Suze xXx

  18. I’ll follow you, Mary Ann! Sounds like a great idea.

  19. […] is that in order to join them, folks will need to join the new site i created on ning.com.   go here to read why i’ve set it up that […]

  20. Im following ,im following
    sounds really fun and exciting and i will be there !

Leave a Reply

