a fete over buttons

the fun-lovin’ analise invited me (& a whole bunch of other fun crafty gals) to join her in her uber cute button challenge.  if you are mad as i am over those tiny li’l fastening (yes, pun intended!) wonders, then have at it as you show off your button collection all afternoon today. 

btnfete1.jpg

how did she know that i absolutely, inexplicably & utterly ❤ buttons??!  being the hoarder collector that i am, i have quite a collection of these tiny treasures.  i don’t know why i am so mad for them, i just am.  whenever i see baggies or even bins of buttons, my brain instructs me to grab them like there is no tomorrow, lol!  it’s as if i am magnetically drawn to those things.  i have more buttons in my private stash than i’ll ever, ever have a need or use for!  my collection will outlast my lifetime!!  & that’s no joke.  seriously.   

btnfete21.jpg

i guess, perhaps, it all started with buying clothes.  you know how there is a hang tag with extra buttons for in case the original button on the garment falls off or whatever?  well, i typically save those buttons in a jar or a tin.  then before i know it, i am looking for a bigger container because the small jar is already bursting. 

btnfete4.jpg

it wasn’t too long before i started incorporating 3-d objects into my various arty-crafty projects…since i had so many loose buttons that came from my clothes over the years, buttons seemed like a natural & very convenient collage element.  & then all of sudden, you start to see bags & jars of both new & vintage buttons in the stores & antique malls & well…my obssession/addiction grew even more! 

btnfete5.jpg

i don’t even dare bother to count the # of buttons (same thing with my rubber & clear  acrylic stamps…the dh believes that i may have broken some type of world’s record, hehehe, which i assure him that i did not!)…all i know is that i have “a lot”, hehehe.   not only do these little gems come in handy in my arty wips, but also, they (again for some inexplicable reason) make my heart sing…bring me such joy & inspiration.  yes, the humble little button gives me all that…& more.  🙂

btnfete3.jpg

i collect them loose, sewn on cards, old, new, swapped, found, discarded, etc. …you name it, i’ve acquired them every way imaginable.  they are like my talismans for creative inspiration, if you will…bringing me into a joyful, gleeful, whimsical state when i create (hey, rhyme was not intended, hehehe!).   

btnfete12.jpg

i seem to be drawn to these colors & i always am on the look-out for some really unique shapes.  but the familiar round shape still makes my little heart a~flutter. 🙂

btnfete11.jpg

btnfete8.jpg

btnfete9.jpg

btnfete7.jpg

btnfete10.jpg

btnfete181.jpg

btnfete19.jpg

btnfete13.jpg

btnfete14.jpg

btnfete15.jpg

btnfete16.jpg

btnfete17.jpg

to see others with a bit of a button fetish, go here or here.  🙂 thanks analise for such a wicked fun challenge!  i was only too happy to oblige!  & i am glad to see that i am not alone in this, hehehe!  i’m in delightful company of other button-crazed co-conspirators. 🙂

btnfete20.jpg

you know,  i never met a button i didn’t like. 

😉

xoxo mary ann

20 Responses

  1. Oh wow Mary Ann what a fabulous stash of buttons you have. I posted about some buttons today too.
    Alison

  2. I thought I had a big collection of buttons, but I think you outdo me. So many pretty colors too!

  3. Now I know why I can’t find any pretty buttons!
    You have them all!
    🙂
    What a beautiful collection!
    The green ones made my heart go pitter patter!

    Thank you for shareing all your pretties!
    hugz,
    Dolly

  4. wow! great collection! beautiful photos! What could be better than having an excuse to play with and show off your buttons!

  5. Hi Mary Ann!

    Oh, your collection is so, so beautiful!! I am so envious of you!!

    Thanks for sharing!!
    xo
    Analise

  6. Mary Ann, you have a wonderful collection of buttons. so many pretty colors and styles…i am swooning…i love how your lil’ dolly made an appearance in most of the pics too, she is CUTE!!!

  7. I never would have thought that there are so many of us that are enthralled by buttons. I loved looking at your collection!

  8. Your buttons make me so very happy! I could daze at them all day! I love to buy button jars and have been known to crack ’em open in the antique mall parking lot just see what goodies are hidden within. Ahhhhh.

  9. Great button collection and fabulous pictures!! xo, suzy

  10. Wonderful button collection! I love your aqua buttons the very best!
    Cerri xo

  11. hi mary ann ~ wow, you sure do have a lovely collection! the first photo is too cute, with the little cupie doll! mine are mostly cream carved mother of pearl ~ sorry i missed this great show and tell! i’m going to go check out everyones collections!
    oh, and thanks 😉
    xo, heidi

  12. OMG!! I thought I had a lot of buttons! What an absolutely gorgeous collection of lovelies!! I just adore all the button cards!
    thank you for sharing!
    xoxo~
    Abbie

  13. It’s the World Renowned Mary Ann McKeating Button Collection. Seriously, this could go on exhibit somewhere! Beautiful.I have a passion for buttons too.
    You are swimming in a sea of blue at your place. I can’t wait to see this! I love your Washington DC cherry blossom photos. I’ve never been but would love to go!

  14. I’m so glad so many others have a crazy passion for buttons like I do! Yours are lovely. I can never pass up a jar or bag of pretty buttons at the flea market!
    Margo

  15. Beautiful buttons and so many.
    I like the on the cards most.
    Greatings from Holland.
    Marja

  16. I like your little friend who is showing us around the button collection, she is as pretty as they are!

  17. More gorgeous button..especially love the shining stars 🙂 Glad to stumble across your wonderful blog!

  18. Hi MaryAnn!!
    Well I did it! I had such a fabulous responce to the ‘button floozy’ thing, I started the ‘button floozies’!!
    Come check us out.. I just need your email if you would like to join!
    http://www.buttonfloozies.blogspot.com
    xoxo~
    Abbie

  19. I’m incredibly jealous. How cute!

    By the way, any of your blog entries would be absolutely perfect to share for Vintage Thingies Thursdays over at my place. I’d love to have you participate.

    Come on by! Confessions of an Apron Queen: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com

  20. Thanks for stopping by. I’m just the opposite- I only have 1 jar of buttons, but tons of aprons! Yours were gorgeous! Just remember, you don’t have to share aprons, you can share anything- buttons would work great too! Look for forward to “seeing” you again.

    Link to instructions: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com/2008/03/light-bulb-moment.html

Leave a Reply

