the weekend guests

ever since i got back from my li’l trip last week, it’s been go, go, go.  & can you believe this?  i still haven’t even unpacked.  i know, i have been preoccupied with other things…

the  school clients have been keeping me busy & it’s almost report card time…already?! & then even more reality sank in… i am in over my head, lol, with swaps at the moment.  have been furiously tackling all those swap wips that i have suddenly amassed (wtf is wrong with me?!!!  i must seriously be on crack, lol)…i told my sis looney that i  am cutting myself off & will not be hosting or joining anymore swaps until after the new year.  it’s getting kinda outta hand…i just have to say no to drugs, ya know what i mean?  …this swap addiction that i have has got to be majorily curbed, lol.

as i was all set to begin tackling my stocking wips for this swap i’m hosting ( seeing that i now have to make 2 instead of 1),  the dh tells me last thursday that he has invited a couple of his childhood buddies for the weekend.  i gasp in horror because that means CLEANING!  so instead of tackling my wips as planned, i frantically got the house ready for our impromtu weekend guests.   i kept telling myself, it will be okay…i will get those swap wips donejust suck it up mar & clean house!

so i took on the role as innkeeper & when the dh’s pals came over from chi-town, all my needless worries & anxieties disappeared.  i accepted this detour in my weekend plans & happily enjoyed my role as hostess.  it warmed my heart to see how happy my hubby was to be in the company of his long-time, childhood friends, paul & ben.  the weather has been unseasonably warm (actually too warm for my liking)  lately & joe wanted to take advantage of that by taking his pals out fishing one last hurrah before it got too cold to do so.  i had forgotten how rowdy it can be with 3 men in the house!  my dh has been working a lot of long hours & so it was nice to see him really relax .  so i decided to make it a nice weekend for all.  i  made us a hearty breakfast before the three of them went out on their fishing adventures.

spc41.jpg  here is paul with my dh, joe…he has known him since freshman year of high school.  paul was signing the tune from the old sitcom, green acres, when i took this snap.

spc11.jpg  this is ben  sitting next to the dh.  the dh has known ben since 2nd or 3rd grade.  i found out that ben likes taking snaps as much as i do 🙂

spc21.jpg spc31.jpg there’s something almost primal about a woman preparing a meal before the men head out for the big hunt (well, in this case, recreactional fishing).  my dh was thrilled to see his pals as they were to see him.  i was only too happy to cook us a nice breakfast.  it’s always so much nicer to share a meal among friends. 

when the guys shoved off for their fishing adventures, i cleaned up & then started working on my wips.  more to follow…

8 Responses

  1. I saw this and thought of you.

  2. awww, thanks she! that is so “sweet” of you…& oh yes, i finally got your goody & will mail it off today! 🙂

  3. I wondered where you had been!!!! Welcome back to blogging!!!! lol

  4. I am glad you had a good weekend. Don’t stress about the swaps. Sometimes i am late and you know it is suppose to be FUN!

  5. Sounds like your hubby and his pals had a good time. They are lucky to have a hostess like you!
    Your home looks so warm and inviting.
    Don’t stress out about swapping. It will all work out.
    Take care.

  6. wow what a amazing garland!!! i love those buttons im a button freak too! haha and my fav colors are pink and turquoise!!!

  7. Hi! Nice site!

Leave a Reply

