the last 48 hours

have been, in a word, horrid

on wednesday i noticed i had a sore throat & had to endure fluctuations in my voice  while treating my school clients.  i drank loads of water, but come thursday, i could not speak, hardly, which is ironic, being a speech therapist and all.  needless to say, i had to cancel my sessions at the school . i had what’s called in my field, acute onset  dysphonia (voice disorder)…i suspect my sore throat  had precepitated this.  i was bummed that i  got sick since i had made it through the whole summer without so much as  a sniffle; plus i managed (or so i thought) to avoid getting what my dh had, this wicked stubborn cold, which he is just now beginning to shake off…   seems like i didn’t get away scott free… the ol’ nasty  cold bug did get me after all.    i didn’t expect to be rendered speechless, literally, tho.  my voiced cracked so much, that it started to hurt, particularly since my sore throat had worsened.  the hubby called me a couple of times to check on me, but he couldn’t get what i was trying to say because my voice kept fading in & out.  it was a struggle for sure…what a total PAIN in my butt… but i did get to rest (both my weary body & voicebox)…when i was at the grocery store the other day, i saw these scrumptious things ff15.jpg which inspired me to make this ff12.jpg well, actually, since i wasn’t going anywhere yesterday, i made a bunch of these cuties 🙂  i am planning to sell them at the creative bazaar next week.  yes, it was a last minute idea, but i had some unexpected time on my hands, you know?

when i woke up this morning i found my voice had returned (yay!), but then i noticed my right hand was sore & achey…oh no!  it seems, i overworked my poor hand when  i crotched about a dozen of those cupcakes yesterday & now i’m paying for it!  man, if it’s not one thing, it is totally another, you know?  i had to call up my yoga instructor, corrina, this morning to let her know i wouldn’t be in yoga class.. i feel like a total dufus…

yes, yet another day to rest, this time, to baby my hand…& with the creative bazaar next next week, i still have stuff to do for that…i’ll be hoping & praying that my hand will get better asap…as it it, i’m typing this post with my left hand, whci is cumbersome.. (sorry about the typos, btw… 

okay, let’s change the subject, shall we?  i’ve had enough of my own whining…

 last weekend, i did actually go to the flea market…it’s about 30 miles from here & it was the last show of the year (they only do this four times in a year).  it was super crowded like i expected.  ff9.jpg  here is the booth of this delaer who has collected buttons since the 40s.  yeah, she has quite an impressive collection (& she still has her private stash at home!)…you think this is a lot?  well, i didn’t take a FULL view of her booth….she has 4 other tables not pictured here filled with boxes of buttons galore.  since i bought quite a few buttons from her last time, i just stopped to admire her vast collection.

ff14.jpg  i really didn’t have anything particular in mind what to look for…i just enjoy the thrill of the hunt 🙂

i did find some small things, like those cabinet photo cards of those kiddies, some vintage posties & cards,  some wonderful vintage jewelry (for my collage art pojects), fun ric rac & a couple of sweet tea cups…my finds for the week…

i’m getting tired, so i’m going to take a little break…have a great friday!ff10.jpg

6 Responses

  1. How horrible! I hope you recover your voice soon and get well again!

    On the other hand, you did get a nice bit of crochet done. I love the cupcake…pincushion??

    Get better soon!

    Bonny

  2. Hope you are feeling 100% very soon!
    I love the little cupcake, and by the way I got my cupcake book yesterday, so thanks so much !!!! It is so cute and I’m looking forward to trying a few of the recipes. YUM!

  3. I’m so sorry!! I hope you feel better.

  4. hope you’re feeling better soon!
    what adorable cupcake and what? no calories?? even better!!!
    that flea market looks amazing!

  5. I hope you feel all better!
    Take care of yourself.
    I will see you soon!
    (I am so excited I get to say this!)
    XO,
    Melba

  6. Mercury Retrograde can be a really tough time. But take heart because Mercury Retrograde is a good time to clean up the old. Use the period to clean out closets (mentally, emotionally, physically) and tie up loose ends. On the other hand, communication issues and starting new ventures is a no no. Hang tight, it’s only three weeks.

    I wish I could go to JustBe but I will be thinking of all of you!

Leave a Reply

