playing catch up

man, what a week!  i usually keep myself busy at a steady pace.  but this week…geeze louise, time management was a wicked issue for me. 

~~finally completed some secret projects (here’s just a sneak peek ): secproj.jpg  i made a number of these earlier in the week…hadn’t realized that glitter is “contagious” because my hubby had a bit of glitter on his face when we woke up in the morning, hahaha!

~~it’s been hard getting up so early & leaving the house on time!  it’s been 2 weeks since i started that school contract & i am still trying to adjust to my school schedule as  i’ve got more student clients this year than last.  i’ve got double the students, plus not to mention,  douoble the work.  then when i do get home, i’ve got dinner & other household chores to do…which then leaves me little to no time to blog or play in my studio…darn school contract!  sometimes i wish i didn’t agree to work for that district, you know? 

 backroad5.jpgspeaking of school, on my way home from the middle school, i was struck by the afternoon sky.  it was so blue & the clouds looked so fluffy 🙂   i just wanted to capture the way the sky looked…then i saw on CaC, that thursday’s photo prompt was “what you see on your way to work/school”….well, this is pretty much what i see both to & from the way to work/school…backroad1.jpg backroad2.jpg backroad4.jpg  

  blue sky, fluffy clouds & dead cornfields EVERYWHERE…

~~why do all the good tv shows have to do their season premiers all week long?  i got sucked into to watching (or rather falling asleep on many of them due to pure exhaustion) way too much tv this week…which is unusual for me since i don’t typically watch that much primetime tv…but i loved bionic woman growing up & i was intrigued by this new version…i don’t know ifi care for this new version…i guess, i was expecting another lindsay wagner to play jaime summers…well, since i fell asleep on the 1st episode, i’m gonna give the show another chance & watch next week.  i’m kinda skeptical tho…this definitely is not like the original show…heck, they don’t even mention “steve austin”…wasn’t he jaime sommers’ boyfirend in the original show?   i also got sucked in by dancing with stars (they’ve got some hotties on the men’s dancing teams…that cameron mattheson is hunky), ugly betty, grey’s anatomy, big shots (a new show that’s like a male version of desperate housewives)…it’s nuts!  i can’t be glued to the tv all night long…i’ve got wips waiting for  me to do!

~~it took me a solid two days  to sort out all the participants in my swap.  a couple of times yesterday, i just had to step away & clear my head…it was hurting too much trying to match up  that many people…  swaps are supposed to be fun…but managing such a large group was giving me the worst headache.  but, sigh, thankfully, it all came together finally & now i can get my stocking done…i always try to get my swaps done early since i seem to find myself involved in so many!

 ~~i seriously need to check-in to “swappers anonymous“…lol…because  it seems as though i am in a never-ending stream of swaps.  is this a new disease that has spread throughout bloggyland…apparently, i (& many other bloggers, no doubt) have fallen victim to this “disease”.  dscn5995-001.jpg  i just completed vintage indie’s vintage teacup & fall flavors swap….i went to 2 of my fav local haunts (cranberry moon & carousel consignments) & found some neat stuff…i’m not showing the stuff that’s inside the black bag (i want my partner , andria r., to be surprised) but i will show you the darlin’ tea cup & saucer that i found…isn’t it sweet? dscn5997-003.jpg

i don’t know what possessed me, but i just signed up to ellia’s something old, something new swap…& i’ve got a few concurrent swaps going on at present….urgh, what is wrong with me??   i need help, lol!  my sis looney says that getting ionvolved in crafty swaps keep my creative juices flowing…well, she may have a point there, but i think i am a (dare i say it?) a compulsive swapper (there, i said it…it’s out, lol!).

because of all my busy-ness lately, i’ve not been  able to participate in any of my fav arty memes like i have done so in the past. oh i do the occasional spc, but i used to do a lot more challenges… i miss that…it’s always nice to create some piece of artwork or write about a certain topic from those weekly art memes…i have been seriously MIA…but i hope that i can manage to sneak some time in, to actuvely participate once again.  i like to see what others come up with a given prompt & then get to read each other’s feedback…i always found that inspiring & motivating.  yes, i must find the time to  somehow  fit some of those art challenges into my busy schedule…i may not always be timely, but i will, in my way, participate…

like CaC‘s getting to know you prompt this past week…inspiring quotes. for example.  i  wanted to respond to this last wednesday, but darn it all, i fell asleep!  so here are my thoughts  (better late than never, right?)…

my sister jo (aka looney) gave me & the dh this sign for our anniversary.  fybsign.jpg  my blog title is taken from this exact quote.& this one is my all-time favorite inspiring quote.   joseph campbell’s  proclamation simply resonates within me. it has for over a decade.   the second quote, which is  beneath my blog title , speaks to me as well.  i can’t remember exactly where i found this quote, but i’m grateful to have discovered it because it literally got me into blogging & creating art again.  those two quotes are words that never fail to inspire me to carry on each day.

 i love quotes that inspire.  & once i find one that speaks to my heart, reaches deep within my soul…then i write them down on scratches of paper.  i have a pile of them sitting by my computer.  i also have little books filled with inspiring words scattered about the house.  i find delight & comfort whenever i pick up one of these little books.  in the past, i have made little books as gifts filled with inspirational quotes.  i think it is a nice thing that you could do for soemone…to give something that may make their day a little bit brighter, to foster hope & goodwill.  i believe in the power of  (positive) words.  the right ones shape the way we think & guide our very  actions.

besides the two quotes mentioned above, i  am taken with the writings of anais nin & maya angelou.  in a word, their writings are profound. 

anais nin>>>

• Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.

• We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.

• Life shrinks or expands according to one’s courage.

• We write to taste life twice, in the moment, and in retrospection.

• To write is to descend, to excavate, to go underground.

• I am in a beautiful prison from which I can only escape by writing.

• My diary is a mirror telling the story of a dreamer who, a long long time ago went through life the way one reads a book.

• Dreams are necessary to life.

maya angelou>>>

Nothing will work unless you do.

• You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.

• Ask for what you want and be prepared to get it.

• Being a woman is hard work.

• I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass.   

• Words mean more than what is set down on paper. It takes the human voice to infuse them with shades of deeper meaning.

• A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.     

& lastly, i love this quote by sark>>>

create with abandon!

for me (& i suspect others also), inspiring quotes are great motivators…& campbell’s quote…well, i intend on doing that every waking moment of my life 🙂 .

3 Responses

  1. Thank you

    Thank you for the lovely photos you share

    Thank you for the inspiring quotes you find

    Thank you for the funny stories about glitter getting where it shouldn’t

    Thank you for giving in to another swap and hosting the vintage stockings, it has only started and way too much fun already

  2. What a great post! I love the glittery goodness in the first photo and I love all the wonderful quotes. Quotes inspire me too and that’s usually the first thing I look for when creating something new.

  3. I’m addicted to swaps too!! I think it’s cause it’s like a little min Christmas each time a package arrives:)

Leave a Reply

