photo thursday {utility}

this is a quick post, as i’m getting ready to leave for school.  i’m a “morning person”…always have been.  & i do enjoy sneaking admiring glances into my garden spaces…i don’t know, but seeing the fresh morning dew brings a warm smile to my heart. 

this is my gazing ball which i have had for almost a decade.  for CaC’s photo thursday, which is guest-hosted by ninotchka btw,  i share this pix i just took minutes ago.  the prompt was this:

What’s something that’s useful in your home that you have come to really love?

gazingball.jpg

i don’t know if my gazing ball is useful, in the strict sense of the word. if anything it is ornamental. but i do LOVE it.  it gives my garden that extra drama & it just tickles my fancy.  for me, my garden is like that line in keats’ poem

a thing of beauty is a joy forever.

& that cobalt blue gazing ball is certainly that indeed. 

5 Responses

  1. Fabulous! I especially love the quote. Thanks so much for participating. And on your way out, even. Wow! 🙂

  2. This is beautiful Mary Ann. I say “if it brings you so much joy, you love it so much, it IS useful”. Can I join you the next time you take a moment to actually stop by to gaze?
    Hugs,
    Wendy XO

  3. Ohhh shiny it’s beautiful! Thanks for sharing it with us!
    *HUGS*

  4. wow.
    this is beautiful!!

  5. Anything that tickles one’s fancy is absolutely useful!

    And seriously, about the morning dew? I think it’s very underrated. I was talking a walk with my mom this a.m. and the grass absolutely looked like it was sparkling. Upon looking closer, you could see all the teensy, tinsy drops of water, but without bending down, it looked like diamonds. Beautiful!

    I’m glad to find someone else who appreciates it!

    KJ

Leave a Reply

