bailey

i cannot sleep.  i am sick to my stomach.  i have been crying my eyes out since i left the vet’s office yesterday morning. i’m crying as i type this post.

our cat bailey is dying, just as we suspected, but didn’t want to believe.

bailey3.jpg

i have had bailey since 1992.  she was a stray my mother & sister found.  at that time, i had lost my kitten, tyler ( a male, grey-striped tabby).  i had made up flyers about my missing tyler.  i had posted a flyer with a b & w pix of tyler at the local grocery store.  a woman called my mother’s house (i was away at grad school at the time) who claimed she had tyler.  well, my sister called me at school to tell me that someone found tyler.  i was estactic.

my mom & sister met the lady at the grocery store where she saw my flyer.  the cat she had was NOT tyler.  it was a BROWN striped tabby.  the lady said she couldn’t take the kitty home because she had too many animals at her house.  my mom & sister took to this cat immediately & brought her home anyway.  my sister called me at school & broke the news to me.  i was crestfallen.  she assured me, however, that this new one was ADORABLE.   mom called the cat “bey-ling”…i wasn’t too crazy about that name, so i said i’d call her “bailey”.  the next time i went home from school, i fell in LOVE with bailey.  she & i have been together ever since.

bailey4.jpg

she has been my faithful companion, traveling buddy (she loves to take car rides sans pet crate), confidante, snuggler, & source of comfort these past 15 years.   when i met my dh joe, bailey sensed that he was a keeper, because she took to him (as did i) immediately.  joe was smitten with her as well. 

bailey41.jpg{photo credit: carol m. miller}

bailey was very much a “people cat”…oh how she loved to work a room.  if people were around her, she was on them (literally).  how she purred & cooed & carried on whenever someone petted her or scooped her up.  she was a very willing cat.  she welcomed all sorts of love and affection.  & she gave it all right back.  she was very much a social butterfly.  everyone LOVED her. 

when joe & got married, bailey worked the reception like the pro she was.  she was in her full glory, loving every second.  people were amazed at how well-behaved bailey was at the reception.  bailey, we think, thought she was a PERSON. 

for some time now, we have noticed changes in her behavior.  she had become so withdrawn, fussy & lethargic.  she wasn’t acting like her usual self.  & in the past couple of weeks, we noted a serious decline. 

the vet suspects advance stages of renal (kidney) failure. & prognosis is not looking good.

i told the vet that the dh & i don’t want bailey to suffer any longer &  that we don’t want to do any heroic measures.

so later this morning, we will take bailey to the vet’s one last time.

 good night sweet bailey.

know that you were & will always be BELOVED.      

14 Responses

  1. MaryAnn – I am so sorry to hear about your sad news. I actually work in a “pet loss” industry… and I have lost many of my own kitties. I’m here if you need to talk!

    I won’t be able to get one to you in time… but if you are interested, ask your vet about a “ClayPaws” print – a print of Bailey’s paw in clay – a wonderful keepsake and memory. If the vet doesn’t use our product, you can still do something similar on your own if you want one using craft clay…

    I will be sending loving, supporting thoughts to you today during this horribly difficult time. Hugs my friend!

  2. I’m so sorry MaryAnn. Sending prayers for comfort for you, hubby and kitty.

  3. I am sorry my love………I will be thinking about you and your loving kitty…..

    I am here if you need a shoulder to cry even if it’s over the phone…

    love, angie wangie

  4. My sweetie!!! You are the nicest, kindest, most loving soul.
    I am sorry.

    I am with you in spirit holding your hand!

    XO,
    Melba

  5. oh sweetie, i am so, so sorry about your darlin bailey. it sounds like she was a true joy in your life, a family member of the truest kind, and it sounds to me like you gave her a beautiful life filled with love.

    *sending loads of love and healing vibes your way*

  6. I’m so sorry MaryAnn, I’m also sending prayers of comfort and peace for you and your family

  7. I know the love one can have for their animals, I have three and know that they are just as part of the family as anyone…I am so sad for you Maryann, I really am…tell your dh I am thinking about you and him at this time of your loss….I got chills and tears when I read this post and I feel your pain…I am so sorry sweetie…I will say a prayer for you….

  8. MaryAnn…i am so sorry to read this. I can’t imagine what you are going through. I know our pets are just like children. We have a toy poodle and he is like our second kid. Animals bring so much love to our lives and i can tell that your kitty filled your life with joy and love as you filled her life also with the same. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. Sending lots of hugs your way.

  9. That is sad news. I get teary eyed when I think about the fact that our dog will not be with us one day. Bailey sounds like the pet everyone dreams of. Perfect in every way. I will pray for you and your family….

  10. I came here by way of the Creative Everyday blog. I’m SO sorry about your loss, about the sickness of dear, dear Bailey. I can’t imagine what it must be like and my heart is heavy and my eyes are filled with tears just thinking about her pain and sadness and confusion. My thoughts and prayers will be with you all. Blessings…

  11. I am sorry Mary Ann…what a sweet cat. Know that I am praying for her and you too.

    Pets are part of the family. We lost our family dog in 92 and it still hurts.

  12. I’m so sorry to hear about your kitty Bailey…..it’s so hard to say goodbye to a member of the family. I’m sure you gave Bailey a wonderful life here and I hope that and your memories will be a comfort to you.

  13. I am so sorry to hear about Bailey. You loved her well and she knew it. You have many wonderful memories and I hope you will be able to take comfort in knowing you did the best you could for her. You and Joe are in my prayers.

  14. I am thinking about you and hoping that you and Joe find comfort in your many memories of your dear pet and friend, Bailey.

Leave a Reply

