promises to self

for self-portrait challenge this week, i made this collage from various magazine clippings &  a digitally altered snap of myself… i don’t know if you have heard of cheryl richardson?  she is a life coach & i have read some of her books over the years & even subscribe to her newsletter.  this past week’s newsletter, cheryl challenges us to construct a treasure map>>>where we essentially make up a collage of magazine/newspaper clippings that speak to us in some way about what it is we really deisre in our lives & in doing this exercise, she tells us to watch our desires materialize…i’m paraphrasing here, but i took to this idea, since i do enjoy creating collages & i also thought to combine cheryl’s challenge with spc’s resolutions challenge {i think it goes together}…i’m still working on my treasure map, but here is my initial effort below…i know it is ginormous, but i wanted you to be able to read the clippings.  these are promises i hope to keep not just throughout the year, but for always.me-003a.jpg

9 Responses

  1. This is fantastic Mary Ann! You are living these goals now. You are one of the most creative people I have ever come across and you are so generous that you are touching the lives of so many people through spreading good karma. Keep it up, you are truly inspirational!

  2. Wow – this is so cool!! I love how you collaged the words around your photo!

    Inspiring to me!! 🙂

  3. Wonderful work, Mary Ann, as always! You are unbelievable, where you get the energy from to join in all these swaps is beyond me! You are, indeed, truly inspirational, and a shining light in this blogosphere!
    Y’see, there are advantages to wordpress already – Blogger is down, but I can still visit you! Hooray! 😀
    Love ‘n’ Big Hugs,
    Suze xXx

  4. Woops! Forgot to mention that if you upload the full size version of your photo to your post editor, then you can shrink it down afterwards. Click on it and then use the arrows to bring it down to the size you want it to be. Hope that helps! 🙂

  5. this is so beautiful Mary Ann and the words are so full of meaning, have a good week, Jude xxxxx

  6. I love this, the layering and the words. You can do it!

    XO,
    Melba

  7. Congrats on your move. This piece is ABSOLUTELY wonderful. I love what you’ve done with the PICTURE and the WORDS – they are fabulous.
    Thank you for the beautiful Christmas card. I am always so happy when I find something from you in my mailbox. I always think I want to do more stamping. Put it everywwwhere. I forget. I must use it. I think I’ll get up some pads and ink. I’ll place them in my pathway. Then I have no excuse.
    Thanks so much for all your inspiration.
    Huge hugs,
    Wendy

  8. love your newest collage creation and hooray for a new year and your new move to expand your horizons at wordpress! thanks for the tip that you’ve moved…sorry i’ve not been visiting as of late but it’s been nutz & boltz over in this kingdom of the lil’ peeps…plus the old ‘puter is on its last legs (or should i say its last megabyte…ha!) anyway, totally missed all your beautiful photos of your cute christmasy stuff and all your neato creations…but it’s a new year and i’ve found you again…so let’s catch up!!!!!!!!!! xoxo looney

  9. Beautiful collage that you must frame…amazing job!

    Warrior wife

Leave a Reply

