studio friday


this week’s topic for studio friday is suggested by susan: CHANGING NAMES… “I’ve been reading Twyla Tharp’s book The Creative Habit and here’s an idea from her book – ” the ancient masters of Japanese art were allowed to change their name once in their lifetime. They had to be very selective about the moment in their career when they did so. They would stick with their given name until they felt they had become the artist they aspired to; at that point, they were allowed to change their name. For the rest of their life, they would work under the new name at the height of their powers.” So let’s presume we are at the height of our careers – what name would you choose and why? ” ~ Susan ***
this was a head scratcher for me. never given much thought about wanting to change my name, other than my surname when i was getting married…i looked up my name, mary ann, & it comes from the latin marianna, which means “beloved”. i like that actually. it suits me…but i do want to play in sf this week…i’ve been mia for sometime from this group. so i surfed the net to see what i would change my name to. & this is what struck my fancy>>>kimimela akua>>>it is african for “butterfly born on wednesday”… butterflies are a favorite motif of mine & they also signify metamorphasis, don’t they? & while perusing the aisles of an antique mall a few weeks ago, i remembered finding a vintage calendar & it was of the year i was born…just for kicks, i looked up my birthday in this old calendar & saw that i was born on a wednesday. & then i found those african names>>>too cool, huh? now, don’t ask me how to pronounce my new name…your guess is as good as mine!
9 Responses

  1. You post is wonderful! And that name is indeed perfect for you. How amazing is it that they would have butterfly born on Wednesday as a name! Totally cool! Thanks for playing with my topic!

  2. I was on the same wavelength as you. I also originally chose Butterfly (in Spanish)- Mariposa, but then changed to Ella Vuela, “She flies.” But I love buttflies and incorporate them into my art (and my blog header)so I understand!!

  3. That’s a beautiful name you chose…I’ve only just found the topic and I’m going to have to think about this one for a while!
    Love & Hugs,
    Suze xXx

  4. Butterflies are beautiful! I really think that is a unique and beautiful name, nice job finding something so suiting!

  5. Very cool!

  6. I love both your real name and your butterfly born on Wednesday name! How lovely!

  7. Very creative way to find a new great name! 🙂

  8. Wow, that name just flows.. very poetic sound to it. It’s beautiful!

  9. Oh wow oh wow! I just LOVE your post! I saw your comment on Susan’s blog and just had to come over to visit! Finding your “new name” was SO serendipitous! I’m glad you found it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

