balanced sovereignty

refers to the third chakra in the book
i am collectively reading with melba & others: true balance {by dr. sonia choquette}…
this chakra is located in our solar plexus, the center of our personal expression of power…& fittingly the color that corresponds with the 3rd chakra is yellow. i liked how the author made the analogy to being “the captain of your own ship“>>>how you determine the course of your life through your thoughts, beliefs & CHOICES. i wrote something along these lines here>>> it had to do with living authentically

in the past,

i would often place other people’s needs & wants before my own…
i found it very hard to say “no” to people…i really did not want to displease others, even at my own expense. but, especially after i met my husband, i am learning to say “no” & not having to be apologetic about it… to say it firmly & sincerely. people would say that i was “too nice” but yet some of these same people expected me to be “too nice” & like to take advantage of my kindness & good nature. it has been a learning process for me to stand true to myself, to respect that i have limitations & that i can’t do it all. i have to acknowledge that i am only one person who can only do so much & also be willing to seek assistance from a HIGHER POWER>>>the UNIVERSE

i struggle with this as there is still a part of me that wishes to make people happy & keep the peace…but i have to honor myself, both my strengths & weaknesses…to eliminate those forces that attempt to tip the scale of my inner balance…

& for mixed media memoirs this week, the topic is>>>

i have my own ways, i do not conform,
no one owns me, i
lead my own leisurely life.
chinese couplet Posted by Picasa

4 Responses

  1. cool, very, very cool! and yes, know what ya mean about hard saying ‘NO’…guess it’s in our blood to please others…takin’ it one day at a time that it’s a-ok to please self once in a while… xoxo looney

  2. ” i have my own ways,
    i do not conform,
    no one owns me,
    i lead my own leisurely life.”

    I love those words, mary ann ~ so inspirational! I so wish I could be reading this book along with you all, but it’s wonderful to be able to read what you all have to say about it and it gets me thinking, just the same as if I had the book! I struggle with the ‘too nice’ dilemma, too. It’s a tricky one!
    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  3. I think as women we are brought up to be “nice” to be the “people pleasures” I think some men have this issue too, but mostly women get taken advantage of in this way. I am glad as you have grown you realize that a polite no can be so impowering and healthy!!!

    I haven’t written my mission statement yet, but yours rings true for me as well.

  4. Your mission statement is wonderful! I haven’t fully thought mine through as of yet, but I’m inspired by your artwork!!

Leave a Reply

