the skin i’m in

(click on collage to enlarge)

since i’ve been away, i’ve missed out on my favorite weekly art challenges, such as mixed media memoirs… last week’s topic was, i am orange… which refers to the second chakra, vitality, in the book i’m collectively reading with melba & others>>>true balance, by sonia choquette.

& last week, while i was at my sister’s, i actually did sneak away some time to create the above collage, but i wanted to wait to post it today, tuesday, which also happens to be self-portrait tuesday (actually it’s now called self-portrait challenge), another fave weekly arty meme & the running theme this month is imperfection… & the french expression in the above collage translates as i feel good in my skin.


that’s how i feel about myself at this stage in my life…
fine lines, white hair (oh yes, there are quite a few under all that black hair of mine!), freckles, moles, being vertically challenged (lol), etc, etc… all of it!
i think it’s because i accept myself as i am>>>wysiwyg!
i am comfortable with the way i am & who i’ve become…
i accept that i am imperfect…
i don’t let that stop me from being & doing!

i take comfort in knowing that no one is perfect!!
when i was younger, i used to worry needlessly about my weight, my looks & my height (oh how i used to wish to be taller!)… but those things don’t concern me anymore…
sure, i care about my health, well-being & how i present myself…
it’s just that they are no longer sources of agony for me …
i have learned over the years
that once you accept yourself, the good, the bad & the ugly>>>
to love the skin your in,
then can you really feel vital…
be truly alive.
to embrace life fully with passion & creativity.
whatever “imperfections” i may have, i accept.
they are what make me, ME!
& i am okay with that. Posted by Picasa
12 Responses

  1. YAY for feeling good in your skin!

  2. Lovely post!! Thank you for sharing your collage and your thoughts – It is a difficult thing to find a comfortable place with yourself. I’ve struggled, but I’m to a point now where I too am feeling good in my skin! 🙂

  3. Yes! That is exactly how I feel. Hooray for getting older and wiser!!!

    We are sisters in so many ways:)

    XO,
    Melba

  4. BEAUTIFUL…you, the collage, and your words.

  5. Good for you! Beautiful shot!

  6. OH MY GOODNESS girl you are a posting MACHINE! You are a beautiful person…(inside and out) and I am so glad I got to meet you!

    I am loving all of the crafty fairs, pumpkins, art and, well ALL of the pictures you are posting!

    BUT…I have to tell you…I LOVE that new fall pocketbook!!! heehee!

  7. Awww what a great post Mar! Celebrate you darlin! Love your collage it is wonderful and so are you! 🙂 Hugs!

  8. AMEN… and you know what I mean right!

    angie

  9. This is beautiful ~ your collage, your photo, your words and especially you. Thanks for sharing “this”.
    And I got your first package yesterday. You are SO kind.
    HUGS

  10. Excellent! What an inspiration you are. I hope I can feel that good about me some day.

  11. I stopped by to say thank you. I received one of your ATCs in the Vintage Children with Party Hats swap back in August. I’m just NOW getting around to putting them in my book. Love the adorable child’s green crown and pretty wings! ha Thanks so much!
    P.S. Loving your latest colalge too!

  12. I love that! Inspired by that. Feeling good about who you are is the best place to reside in. U go Girl 😉

Leave a Reply

