maine connection

hi blog sistas & friends! i got in last night after a long day of traveling & i feel like i’ve been away for a LONG time! it’s good to see my “neglected” dh & the kitties, oh how i missed them!

…i had a great time last week in maine, visiting friends, old & new & going to my old stomping grounds & new areas…it felt wicked good to be back in maine, very emotional, actually, which caught me off guard! i kept thinking how much we left behind when we relocated to cheeseland. i tried to take in as much as i could…it was exhilarating to smell the salt air, tool around the maine countryside & shop in familiar stores & also discover new ones! here are just few of the many, many snaps i took during my week in maine. i covered a lot of ground in the short week that i was there…take a look>>> annie & brad picked me up at the airport & we took the scenic route…we ventured off to old orchard beach in southern maine (& my friends live in central maine, near the state capital, augusta)!…dig my footprints? the water i assure you was wicked cold!
then i got to meet my two blogging pals, susan & jes…i won’t rehash since i posted about our meeting in last post, but these are my pics…it was a great honor & pleasure to meet them in person…we totally had a blast!
i dropped brad off at the lincolnville ferry & then i spent the day tooling around my old’ neighborhood…i went up on mt. battie, which is tres sentimental as that is where we got married…i had an impromtu breakfast as i sat on the cliff…i called my dh to let him know i was thinking of him & wishing he was sitting up there with me! i also called a few other folks…now let me tell you, i was overcome with mixed emotions, mostly good…& i really felt like i was on top of the world!
i met my pal carol for lunch last week…we met in a village called damariscotta (i used to work at the small community hospital there)….& that turned out to be a day-long adventure in itself! it was fun to see carol & tool around the pennisula…we went to pemaquid point, laid on the rocks & just soaked in the sun & lulled in a quick nap by the crashing waves…i love that little point>>>it is so quintessentially maine! then she took me to the other side of pemaquid, christmas cove…how beautifully serene it was there! funny, when i lived in maine, i always went to pemaquid & never thought to go on the other side of the pennisula!

well, folks, these are just some of the fun things i did & saw while on my trip…i have more to share, but i will upload later…i’ve got to run a few errands (i.e., go to post office) & have lunch with my dh {smile}…

be back in a bit! Posted by Picasa

5 Responses

  1. Mary Ann,Thanks for sharing all these wonderful photos. You had a marvellous time. I can tell. Sorry I’ve had such a busy week and didn’t have time to check back sooner. You’ve shared some other fabulous treasures as well. I adore the pictures of the deer.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  2. I remember when we first connected it was your first post with your friend annie, how wonderful you have seen her twice since I have known you! I am so glad you are back, I missed you and it was wierd, I was ‘worried’ about you?! I had checked each day and just starting missing you!

  3. Well I guess I am not the only one who kept checking back to see if you were home yet lol..Welcome back Mar! What a lovely time you had! Love all the photos you brought back to share! Thanks! Missed you! Big Hugs!

  4. I just got back last night. Glad you had fun. I will keep reading your posts to catch up with you!

  5. what nice bloggin’ sistas you have! so glad you were able to finally meet two of them…all of your bloggin’ world sistas seem awfully nice…wish the real world was like that…love, love, love those collages of maine…postcard perfect! thank you for bringing the beauty of maine home to a lil’ suburb of chicago…xoxo looney–>

Leave a Reply

