treasure tuesday

it’s time for faith’s treasure tuesday…& this week i thought i would share my old work i.d. badge. i used to work as a reservationist for a local (but now long-time defunct airlines) before i went to speech therapy school…yup, i was one of those gals you talked to you when you wanted to book a flight, asked for flight information or even called with some complaint! my mom actually encouraged me to apply for this job…i had just recently graduated from a well-known university in d.c. & moved back home…i was getting all sorts of rejection letters from prospective employers mainly due to my lack of work experience…sure i had a part-time job through the school i had attended, but that was within the school & not in the real world…& prior to that, i didn’t work outside of school either. my folks believed that their kids should focus on their studies & not have to add part-time work at the local mickey d’s to the mix…so, getting this airline job, while not glamourous by any means!, was my first paying gig & the major perks of this job was unlimited, free travel, anywhere the airline flew…i also was entitled to all sorts of professional discounts with car rentals, hotel rooms & flying on other airlines…
i had the late night shift, 4:30pm-1:30am, BUT i did have weekends off! it wasn’t too bad…i took that shift & many other co-workers, who had higher seniority than me, liked to “trade” days off with me because of my weekends off…apparently, one had to have worked for the company a good many years before getting the highly coveted banker’s hours AND weekends off schedule…the bunch of gals that i trained alongside & eventually became cubbiemates would often plan (usually on the spur of the moment) quick day trips…one day a bunch of us went to boston for lunch (one of the gals was hankering for some lobster). another time, i went with one of my pals (the gal you see sitting beside me in the pic above) to nyc for the day…i’ve gone to visit friends in florida, oregan,tennesee, california, d.c. (to name a few places i have gone) all on a whim’s notice often times…ah, too be young, single & carefree again!
one of most favorite memories of my “flying days” was i had visited some friends in d.c., the weekend before & had forgotten my camera…so the following weekend, i booked myself on the first flight out to d.c., got up wicked early to catch that flight…got seated in 1st class because it was an “open” flight…took the metro to my friend’s house, visited for a while…cabbed it back to the airport & boarded the “turnaround” flight back to chicago…again, was seated in first class…i was home by 1 o’clock that same day!
my father had seen me pull up to the house & asked me where i had gone off so early. i told him that i went to d.c. to pick up my camera that i had left at helen’s house. my dad looked incredulously at me & said, “so now you are a jet setter?!”…how i chuckle at the memory of my father’s response. yeah, i used to think nothing of it to hop on a flight at a moment’s notice.

it’s a shame, with how the world is nowadays, that one cannot really do this anymore. thank goodness for memories, though… they help us to remember when… Posted by Picasa

4 Responses

  1. Hopping on a flight anytime – oh that would be nice! Thanks for joining in!!!

  2. that does sound cool, although I am afraid to fly.

  3. you’ve always been such a wanderlust (a strong persistent urge to travel)…i think you were a time traveller in another time…love hearing such excitement back in the day…and your current adventures in following your bliss! xoxo looney

  4. Wow. Those were the days, when you could just catch a plane across country & not think anything about it. Sad.
    Right before 9/11, I was getting ready to fly cross-country (my first time flying) and I was nerVOUS! I called the airport & spoke to folks from the airline we were flying and they arranged for me to have a personal tour of the airport AND some jets. I was able to get on 3 different jets, meet some pilots AND step inside of a cockpit – if I had wanted to. All those controls alone just about sent me into a panic attack. 🙂
    That’s a great memory for me. I wrote them all thank you letters and their supervisors, because they didn’t really have to do that for me. I loved flying and then 9/11 and … 😦
    I’m glad you have those memories! That’s a neat treasure!
    Thanks for stopping by to check mine out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

