learning curve

hope your 4th was enjoyable & memorable…

i spent my entire day, along with my pal laura (that same gal who caught me “red-handed” in the cookie jar at that recent scrapbook garage sale) at the lake leota art & music fair in the town next over from me (about 10 min away)… my sister jo & the family tribe were supposed to come up for this but an unplanned event came up (they are okay)…anyhoo, my sister gave me strict orders to take pics & blog about my day at the art fair… dh took it easy & tinkered around the house (he had been working many long hours lately…he just wanted to chill, but did not want to deal with the 4th of july crowds>>>can’t say that i blame him)…early this morning, as i was getting my stuff ready for the fair, i had a last minute spurt of creativity>>>this, i don’t know what you call this (though my pal, jean, one of the fair’s organizer’s, calls it a diorama>>>spelling?)…i just thought it would be an appropriate thing on this summer’s day at the lake (even though there is no surfing to be had there!…just my ode to summer)… for the background, i actually used that alcohol inks technique that i wrote a while back (see trash remix 2:tutorial)…i was trying to make it look like crashing waves…this took me less than 20 minutes to make & it was wicked fun! you gotta take the ideas when they come & RUN with it, right? i couldn’t believe how many people at the fair liked that little funny boxed thing i made…it was on a whim that i made that & that morning too!
it was an extremely pleasant summer’s day…80 degrees, breezy & lots of SUN! although, i must say, the breeze was kicking up a few times throughout the day, continually knocking over my displays! lol… my pal laura was just as excited as i was to be there & she was a terrific assistant! THANKS LAURA>>>you totally ROCK!
there was this wonderful celtic band, larkin’, whose tent was directly across from ours! it was magical to hear the wonderful sounds of those irish & scottish ballads & “jigging” music…i felt like i was transported somehow somewhere magical & celtic! it was music for the soul for sure…& looney, you’ll be happy to know that i used everything you loaned me to display my stuff! but i did wish you were here with the family tribe…because i know that you all would have had a blast! & that you would be hawking everyone to come into our tent! lol!!!! maybe next time?

i have to thank jean/folk artist for inviting me to this wonderful event & also to this fab painter, dee ann, whose booth was beside mine. i was a total NEWBIE to this whole world of art-fairing (my first ever!!!!!) & they both have so generously shared their professional tips & experience with little ol’ me… wow! thank you, thank you, thank you!!! invaluable information so generously given to me!

today was a serious LEARNING experience & i was a bit weirded out & overwhelmed that stuff that i have lovingly made was OUT there for all to see…it was, to be frank, quite NERVE-wracking…AND i could not believe people actually wanted to by my JUNK, i mean, art work!!!! for years i have made these very same things that were being displayed for the sheer joy of it>>>gifts for friends & family>>> & then to actually observe people’s reactions (or lack of at times) as well as have to respond to people’s questions like, “how much do you charge?”>>>it threw me off mainly because i really didn’t expect people to talk to me, be interested (i know, i know, that sounds crazy, but true!) & i didn’t have anything really to sell (like jean & dee ann, forexample) except for the postcards i made (which btw, LAURA, you did an awesome job displaying them for me>>>would have gotten my sister looney’s stamp of approval!)… it really made me feel so vunerable & insecure to see people traispe in & out, fondle my art pieces, & then walk away…it’s one thing to post stuff on the blogosphere>>>but it certainly is another animal altogether in PERSON! laura, the dear, was telling me to stop being so doubtful & incredulous & accept that it was complete strangers’ choice to come into my booth & that i wasn’t being an obnoxious cheesy car-salesman…they came in by their own accord & my stuff apparently caught their eye… she also reminded me that i see complete strangers every day at work & literally get in their faces…but i told her that was clinical…this fair was PERSONAL…

why it so hard for me to see that? it flippin’ amazes me that people actually want to drop $$$ on something that i made?!!!! i even had one woman say she wanted to talk to me further about commissioning something “unique & original” for this breast cancer fundraiser, a silent aution! EXCUSE ME? are you seriously talking to me & you want ME to do what?! totally did not expect ANYTHING like this remotely even occuring today!!!!! i really had NO expectations, other than to see what the heck this was all about.

i know, you’re probably thinking right now that i need to so get over it, but you gotta understand, THIS IS A FIRST for me…i’ve never SOLD anything (EVER) that i’ve created before in my many years of dabbling in the arts & crafts…& to see it being played out in front of my very own eyes & to have people be so complimentary, well, it just astounded me! i can’t explain it why i was freaked outlike i had, i just was…

i have a lot more to learn>>> that is for darn sure! & as jean said to me, just observe & learn from others each & everytime at these fairs…it will get easier in time. let’s hope she is right. Posted by Picasa

11 Responses

  1. Oh that must have been so exciting. People buying your stuff!! And a possible commision, now that truly is cool. Glad you had such an amazing time.

  2. hi – I have been meaning to pop by & say hi -but well – life gets away and its weeks. but here I am !

  3. what a wicked COOL experience! Yeah Maryann!!! You GO! I am so psyched for you! I lOVE these fairs, although never really get the chance to attend, I would die to participate in one! I cant believe with all you have done, that you pulled this off! You are an incredible woman, creator, artist! Lovely! Thanks for sharing! when is the next one you are signing up for?!

  4. woo-hoo!!!!!!!! so proud of you, ATE!!!! knew you could do it and so happy that you had the chance to show a part of the world most of your beautiful creations. thank you so much Laura for being there to support and help my sister, your genuine and kind thoughts and assistance helped my sister’s art touch so many and probably inspired alot of creativity out there! thank you for making it so “MARTHA!” and putting your charming artist’s touch too! see Ate…your art inspires greatness…believe in yourself…others do! so happy that someone else has recognized your talent and excited that your art will touch others through that cancer auction…go for it!!!!!!!!!!! xoxo looney

  5. I can’t see how you CAN’T See that your work is unique and EYE CATCHING! I guess we’re our own worst critics and we need to LEARN to step back and observe once in a while! See? your work speaks for itself! People will always come in, admire it, purchase or comission because of it’s uniquity. I’m proud of you! I think you ROCKED your 1st fair and I truely hope that you do more!!!! Keep us posted, I’m happy to be able to go on the journey of discovery with you!!
    ~ XO XO XO ~
    Gabi
    ps – the diorama is COOL AS HECK!! Are you SERIOUS? That took you 20 minutes? yup… when that creativity bug bites, ya gotta run with it! AWESOME!!!!

  6. That looks like a blast, and some great weather! Say thanks to Looney fro me—ghezzzzzz, too many compliments, wow! Fun stuff! Congrats

  7. o my gosh! thanks everyone for your most kind & generous comments! my heart is bigtime smiling!!!!

    i am motivated to SHINE ON!

    big hugs to you all!

    🙂 mary ann xo

  8. Way to go!!! I am so happy for you :0)

  9. I have never sold anything I made either. It is so weird that I read this post today right after I opened my blog store. I was so nervous pressing send and adding the link to my Blogs.
    So we are on this journey together!!
    and I am so glad you started because people will definately want to buy your stuff at the Creative Bazaar so start making some stuff!!!!

  10. Mary Ann,,,,,,

    I am so happy for you…. Selling your art!!!!!!!! This is great……..

    Sorry, that I have been out of the loop, but I try to check your blog as much as possible…

    Love and happy selling,

    Angie Wangie

  11. Oh!! Congratulations! How wonderfully fun! Good for you!!

Leave a Reply

