girl gone wild

i hate to admit this on the blogosphere, especially since i had that post about decluttering my studio a while ago…but the mind can talk you into things, can’t it so?

saturday mornings are usually my yoga classes, but i’m not quite up to speed with getting into any postures, no matter how “gentle” they might be (& corinna, my dear yoga instructor, you do at times take us places we’d rather not go, lol) & i did have to pop by the p.o. to mail an overseas package…wouldn’t you know that after i left the p.o., my car starting heading south, the very opposite direction to going home…

about 40 minutes later, i ended up at this scrapstore place in the town just north of where i work…i wasn’t expecting much, since it is a pretty hardcore scrapbook store & not an artsy one (& lately, my scrapping has taken a major falling by the wayside), like this fab place i go to, called the gooosebarn>>>now that is an artsy/craftsy store right up my alley…

i thought i would pick up some crafty supplies for melba’s exciting event as well as some glossy cardstock (bec. i’d like to make postcards of my artwork that i can potentially sell at this very upcoming local art fair that i’m participating in, as a matter of fact, on the 4th)…

i spied these bundles of 50 glossy paper packs. each bag was $4.00>>>come on folks, that is a wicked deal (especially, since one sheet is 50 cents)! i bought 4 of those packs, though you only see 3, but that’s because… when i got home, i made tons of postcards with the first pack of glossy paper!!!!!!
okay, my downfall>>>wasn’t i just more than pleasantly surprised when i saw TONS of rubberstamps (arty ones that i’ve coveted at the goosebarn) at this garage sale?! oh, & i was feeling like i got caught red-handed with my fingers in the cookie jar as a familiar voice said, “like you need more stuff!”…it was my pal, LAURA!!! she’s like, “fancy meeting you here, i thought i knew that car of yours!”…she lol & teased me so…but i took it…’cuz, where would you find all these stamps at such DEEP discounts??? can’t help a wicked bargain when i come across them!
i seriously need to find more things in my studio to GIVEAWAY on the next wysiwyg wednesday… so that i can feel justified in having all this newly acquired junk! my bad is certainly YOUR gain my friends.

{smiling with a sheepish grin} Posted by Picasa

8 Responses

  1. definately fun! I NEED to go yard saling too! what fun you have had! I am the same way, I get rid of everything, then accumulate again, I used to have this goal each day, give away 5 things, throw away 5 things…I would do it for a week or so just to get going through things and not get too overwhelmed….I love you finds!

  2. man…wish you were up and going when we were there last…would have loved to acquire some inspirational pieces too! how about next time you could show me all your hidden gems??? c’mon, Reya…what else are ya hidin’ from me?????????????? seriously now, would love some of your art postcards to mail notes all across the world…can’t wait to see all your next projects with your new goodies! put we down for wysiwyg wednesday…okah????!!!! xoxo loon

  3. I don’t know what is up with the grarage sales in my area but I never find any cool stuff and certainly never any rubberstamps. You got some great deals Mary Ann and I love the postcards you made.

  4. Holy C@####*p!!!!! You scored !!Glossy paper is hard to come by & those stamps, well I used to sell stampin up till i had so much I gave 1/2 away & sold the rest on Ebay…so i understand!!!!

  5. HI…I found you on Audrey’s blog…I know her through a project that we are working on. Anyhoo….I am also living in cheeseland and I (and DH) were just at the Elkhorn flea market last weekend. You can find me at..
    http://www.seasidedreamer.blogspot.com
    Maybe we can stay in touch since we obviously don’t live that far from each other….(it took us about an hour to get to Elkhorn.)

  6. hows the preparations going for the art fair you are doing tomorrow!! take a pic! I want to see!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Oh my,,,you sound like someone else I know,,ME! I declutter then end up buying more! Those stamps were definetly a steal! Your post was so funny!

  8. What a cool day you had babe, and what fabulous finds. So youre doing a sale tomorrow. Where do you do it? you must take lots of photos of the things you sell, the cards look fabulous. Do you print them on the computer at home?

    Garage sales, Scarlett talks about them in Australia but we dont have them here 😦 probably something to do with the weather. So watch out Brisbane start organising those garage sales for September!!!!

    Im like you Mary ann I cannot be doing with these serious scrapbooking shops, I prefer artsy crafty shops love ’em to bits

    I cannot keep up with all your posts you have been so busy. congrats to wysiwyg wednesday winner will check out her blog next. Have a fab week darling and take care of yourself – much love and dont rush about too soon Hugs Jude xxx

Leave a Reply

